1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello newbie here!

Discussion in 'Welcome Newbies' started by Timor, 3 Mar 2015.

1. Timor

Timor Thread Starter New Member

Hi all :happy1:
    So guys, I'm new here and looking for advice. I'm planning on having a 4 week TEFL course in Chiang Mai, 25 May - 19 June and was wondering how hard will it be finding a teaching position end of June. I know it's not the best time of the year to apply for jobs (couple of months too late I guess). I'm a non NES with a bachelor's degree in Business Economics, and it will be my first trip to Thailand!!! How bad is the market in and around CM that time of the year generally speaking? I wouldn't mind working in a small town, I do like it quiet :smile:
    Many thanks in advance

2. Stamp

Stamp Administrator Staff Member

:welcome to TT

3. ramses

ramses Well-Known Member

Not too hard. Language centers are always hiring, and by June there will invariably be some turnover at government schools. There are a few members here from CM, hopefully they'll pop by and say hello.

Oh, and welcome!

4. bahn_farang

bahn_farang Well-Known Member

welcome, good luck with the course and search. Facebook has many sites with a constant stream of available jobs

5. Mister T

Mister T Retired, fat and happy

Welcome newbie, you will most likely make a few contacts from the course. Pick and choose carefully with contracts, do not accept 10 or 11 month contracts.

6. Timor

Hey guys, thanks for the warm welcome :thai wai: There's something more I'd like you to please help me. I'll be coming to Thailand with my travel medical insurance, let's say I get a teaching contract, will I be then double insured? Is it a problem? I want a good covering. I'm not over the hill but being alone so far away isn't the greatest feeling. Or is it :smile2:

7. Mister T

Mister T Retired, fat and happy