1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not paying tax - No Tax ID number

Discussion in 'Tax issues' started by morganpchai, 4 Oct 2012.

1. morganpchai

morganpchai Thread Starter New Member

I'm in my second year at this school. The employment document the school provided to the Labour Office states my salary at 15,000 Baht. It's not true but the school did it to avoid paying tax. I signed the document too. Having looked at the Tax office website it says that earning below 150,000 Baht is tax exempt but if I am earning exactly 150,000 Baht I ought to be paying tax? Bear in mind it is a ten month contract.

I am worried that it will all catch up with me in a bad way. Real salary is 27,000 Baht btw. I don't know why the school is so keen to avoid the small amount of tax, but they are.

2. dave123

dave123 Smurf Diver

How did you manage to get your visa extended without a tax paid cert?

we have to produce a cert from the tax office to prove we have paid.

3. morganpchai

Oh, that makes sense. Perhaps it was in the pile of documents and I didn't notice it? If that's the case then the school might have taken care of it on my behalf... if that's even possible. I'll ask if they have my Tax Id and any documents on Monday.

4. dave123

dave123 Smurf Diver

yes as long as you signed the proxy form for them (i think that's what it's called) I guess they then helped you with your visa extension?

5. MisterStretch

MisterStretch Guru di guru-guru Ingeris

I'm wondering if, because his "salary" falls below the taxable rate, that a tax card isn't required. Not sure, but maybe.

Personally, I think you are putting yourself in a very hard position, morgan. You are colluding to defraud the government.

6. magnumforce

magnumforce Active Member

Even if your 'salary' falls below the taxable rate, you should still get a certificate from the tax office stating zero tax liability.